Some people do not take misdemeanors seriously. Before they know it, they are behind bars and facing expensive fines and other unanticipated costs. Their reputation may be damaged and they may even face complications with their immigration status.
While misdemeanors are considered less serious offenses than felonies, they are still serious. If you are facing misdemeanor charges, contact The Harrell Law Firm, PLLC for help. Our Loveland misdemeanor charges attorney can discuss your legal rights and options during a confidential consultation. Call our Loveland criminal defense attorneys at (970) 791-2006 or contact us online.
What Are Misdemeanors in Loveland Colorado?
Colorado classifies crimes into petty offenses, misdemeanors, and felonies. Petty offenses are minor infractions that can result in up to ten days in jail and a fine of up to $300. Misdemeanor offenses carry a maximum jail term of 364 days and a fine of up to $1,000. Felony offenses can result in incarceration all the way up to life, plus fines up to $1 million.
Examples of Misdemeanors in Loveland, Colorado
Some examples of misdemeanors that are commonly charged in Colorado include:
- Theft of property of less than $2,000
- Criminal mischief of damage less than $2,000
- Indecent exposure
- Intent to commit a class 1 misdemeanor
- Criminal tampering
Penalties for Misdemeanors in Loveland, Colorado
The potential penalties you may face depend on the classification of the misdemeanor and the circumstances surrounding the crime, as follows:
- Class 1 misdemeanors – Punishable by up to 364 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000
- Class 2 misdemeanors – Punishable by up to 120 days in jail and a fine of up to $750
- Level 1 drug misdemeanors – Punishable by up to eighteen months in jail, probation up to two years, and a fine up to $5,000
- Level 2 drug misdemeanors – Punishable by up to twelve months in jail and a fine of up to $750
- Misdemeanor traffic offenses – Punishable by ten days to twelve months in jail, a fine up to $1,000, and DMV points.
- Extraordinary risk class 1 misdemeanor – Punishable by up to 18 months in jail and a fine up to $1,000
Misdemeanor offenses can sometimes be resolved through probation rather than confinement, but there are risks, so you should consult with an experienced criminal defense lawyer before accepting a plea agreement.
It may be possible to seal misdemeanor charges or convictions in some situations. However, some offenses cannot be sealed as a matter of law.
A conviction of a misdemeanor offense can also result in other consequences. For example, if the crime involved domestic violence or moral turpitude, it can establish grounds for removal if you are an immigrant.
Statute of Limitations
The prosecutor can file charges against a defendant for certain felonies, such as murder. However, the prosecutor must file charges against a defendant for misdemeanor offenses within 18 months.
Contact Us Today for a Confidential Consultation to Discuss Your Case
If you are facing criminal charges of any nature, it’s vital to take the charges against you seriously and to mount an aggressive defense. Attorney Sean P. Harrell is a former deputy district attorney of the 18th Judicial District. He knows how the other side builds their case and can use this insider knowledge against them. Contact the Loveland misdemeanor charges attorney today for a confidential consultation. Call (970) 791-2006 or fill out our online form.