If you are facing harassment charges in Loveland, Colorado, it’s crucial to consult a skilled Loveland harassment lawyer who specializes in defending clients against criminal harassment allegations. Harassment, although commonly associated with civil matters, can have serious criminal consequences in Colorado, potentially resulting in incarceration. Don’t navigate these charges alone – seek the assistance of our experienced Loveland criminal defense attorneys to protect your rights and mount a strong defense. Contact The Harrell Law Firm, PLLC’s Loveland harassment lawyer today online or call (970) 791-2006 for expert legal assistance.
What Is Criminal Harassment?
You can be charged with the crime of harassment ( Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-9-111) if you have the intent to harass, annoy, or alarm someone else when you do any of the following to or directed at another person:
- Strike, shove, kick, touch them, or subject them to physical contact
- Make an obscene gesture or direct obscene language at them in a public place
- Follow someone in a public place
- Taunt, insult, or make communications in offensive language in a way likely to provoke a disorderly response
- Call someone repeatedly with no legitimate purpose
- Make repeated communications at inconvenient times that invade their privacy or interfere with their enjoyment of their home
- Initiate communication with them or direct language to them through electronic means with the intent to harass them, threaten bodily injury or damage to their property, or make obscene communications
Potential Penalties for Harassment
The potential penalties for harassment depend on the actions and whether they are classified as a petty offense, class 1 misdemeanor, or class 2 misdemeanor. This is how the potential penalties break down:
- Making an obscene gesture or directing obscene language at someone in a public place – petty offense, punishable by up to 10 days in jail and a fine of up to $300
- Following someone in a public place – class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by up to 364 days in jail and a fine up to $1,000
- Unlawfully touching someone else – class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by up to 364 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000
- Committing harassment against someone due to their race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, or disability – class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by up to 364 days in jail and a fine up to $1,000
- All other forms of harassment, including cyberbullying – class 2 misdemeanor, punishable by up to 120 days in jail and a fine of up to $750
Alleged victims of harassment can petition the court for a protection order. If a protection order is granted and you violate it, you can be subject to additional penalties.
Victims of harassment may also pursue civil remedies against you for any damages they claim to have sustained.
Possible Defenses for Harassment
There are several possible defenses that may apply to cases involving harassment, but they are extremely fact-specific. Possible defenses your Loveland harassment lawyer might use include:
- You did not intend to harass, annoy, or alarm the alleged victim
- The alleged victim misidentified you
- Someone impersonated you in committing the crime
- You were falsely accused
- The alleged victim had no reasonable expectation of privacy
- The asserted actions were an expression of your first amendment rights
An experienced Loveland harassment attorney can review your case and determine the potential defenses that can be raised in your case.
Contact an Understanding Loveland Harassment Lawyer for Help
If you are facing harassment charges, it’s vital that you work with an experienced Loveland harassment lawyer who knows how to combat the charges. Contact The Harrell Law Firm, PLLC online or call (970) 791-2006 today to learn more.